For the 2022  MAGIC Revisions, still  in progress, we are deeply  indebted  for the advice and assistance of Dr. Aaron Gerds, Dr. Richard T. Silver., Dr. Ruben Mesa, Dr. Srdan Verstovsek, Dr. John Mascarenhas, Dr. Claire Harrison, Dr. Abu Zaineh Ghaith, Dr. Joseph Scandura, Dr. Claire Harrison, Dr. Zorah Nooruddin, and Helen Chovestide, PhD.

The MAGIC MPN risk assessment tool grew out of the work of the MPN stem cell transplantation taskforce (MS3T). (See listing of members, below.)


Fo r  high risk myelofibrosis patients with rapidly progressing disease, the only cure may be a stem cell transplant.  The timing of the SCT is critical and too often MF patients delay the procedure until the onset of blast phase of progression to Acute Myeloid Leukemia where the  outcomes are  unfavorable.   Internationally renowned hematologists, transplanters, pathologists, teamed up with MPN patient advocates to focus on this issue.

The conclusion: A simple, free, graphically striking on-line tool that incorporated current findings on myelofibrosis assessment could help reduce the toll resulting from delay of stem cell transplant.
The MS3T  reviewed the clinically validated DIPSS and DIPSS+  scales that measured myelofibrosis risk levels and consulted on the construction of the Stem Cell Transplant Timing Tool (SSTT,

The same scoring scales and risk assessment that applied to SCT timing is applicable to prognostic application in myelofibrosis as an aid to determining levels of treatment, from Watch & Wait or low level intervention in low risk MF to SCT or entry to clinical trial for higher risk levels. Adapting the SCT tool to the general MF population was a natural extension of the Taskforce’s work.

The addition of mutational burden added an extra dimension to the tool. MAGIC simply lists and totals mutations. The mutation analysis section is integrally linked to   “Notes on MPN Mutations,”here and in the MPN Quarterly Journal  The Notes provide more detail on the most common MPN mutations and a general background on the MPN mutational landscape..

In July , 2021 the MPN-SAF. myeloproliferative neoplasm system assessment form , was added to MAGIC to provide parallel insights into the ET and PV phenotypes and provide additional information on the impact of symptoms on the assessment of MF.

The MPN Research Foundation was a major sponsor of this work as part of its myelofibrosis and SCT education and patient support programming.

The MPN Research Foundation launch announcement to media is here.



Members, MS3T



Dr. Claire Harrison

Professor and Clinical Director, Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Hospital London

Dr. Ruben Mesa

Director, Mays Cancer Center of UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Richard T. Silver

Professor of Medicine, Weill-Cornell 

Richard T Silver MD Myeloproliferative Neoplasms Center

Dr. Srdan Verstovsek

Department of Leukemia, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston

Transplant specialists

Dr. Koen Van Besien

Director, SCT program, Weill-Cornell

Dr. Nicolaus Kroeger

Medical Director, SCT, University Hospital, Hamburg

Dr. Jeanne Palmer

Medical Director, BMT, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix

Dr. Uday Popat

Professor Dept of SCT, MD Anderson


Dr. Attilio Orazi

Professor of Pathology, Director of Hematopathology, Weill-Cornell

Adjunct Advisor

Dr. Wael Saber

Scientific Director, CIBMTR, Associate Professor

Medical College of Wisconsin

MPN SCT Patients

Chris Harper

Beatrice Larroque

Martin Prager

MPN Patient Advocates 

Ann Brazeau

MPN Advocacy and Education, CEO

Ann Haehn

President and Founder, Genny’s Hope Foundation 

Barbara Van Husen

CEO, MPN Research Foundation

Michelle Woerhle

Director, MPN Research Foundation

Project Director

Zhenya Senyak

Editor & Publisher, MPN Quarterly Journal/MPNforum



The MPN Research Foundation

Special thanks to the MS3t Taskforce and to Ed Bartholemy, Diane Blackstock, Zeta Charania, John Crispino, David Denny, Brandon Goetz, Jacob Grinfeld, Claire Harrison, Ruben Mesa, Pam Murphy, Jerry Spivak . Ann Mallally and William Vainchenker.  Dedicated to the memory of Robert Rosen.

For the 2022 Revisions , still  progressing, we are deeplyy  indebted  for the iput and assistance of  Dr. Richard T. Silver,  Dr. Ruben Mesa, Dr. Srdan Verstovsek, Dr. Claire Harrison, Dr. Aaron Gerds, Dr. Koen Van Besien, Dr. Nicolaus Kroeger, Dr. Joseph Scandura, Dr.Zorah Nooruddin \, Abu  Zaineh Ghaith     , and Helen Chofestides PhD.  All remaining errors and omissions are attributable to the editors..